Providence Alaska Medical Center: Making birth safer and friendlier

By OBHG Marketing on October 7th, 2017

Last week, the American Association of Birth Centers (AABC) honored the Ob Hospitalist Group team at Providence Alaska Medical Center with the Collaborating Physician Award for the empathetic and quality patient care they give to patients coming to the hospital from community birthing centers.

AABC presented the award during the opening ceremonies at its Birth Institute conference on October 5 in Anchorage, Alaska, according to Kate Slider, AABC Associate Director. The Collaborating Physician Award is presented annually and nominations are received from throughout the United States, said Slider.

OB Hospitalist Team Lead Dr. Lisa Johnson and her team, along with Dr. Kathryn Ostrom of Alaska Women's Health, were “instrumental in pushing for continuity of care by CNMs and convincing the medical staff of this,” according to the nomination. The Providence Alaska Medical Center team was honored for supporting the birth center CNMs with consultation, collaboration on high-risk clients, and assist with deliveries when needed.

The nominee added that the Providence Alaska Medical Center hospitalist team had helped maintain the birth center’s low C-section rate and “continue high-quality care even when transferred from the birth center.”

“This award is a result of an effort by each team member to engage the midwives who deliver in community birth centers, provide easy accessibility to them, build a collegial, team based approach which encourages appropriate transfers of care and improves communication. It represents exactly the kind of relationship and community service building we want to see by our teams,” said Medical Director of Operations for the Pacific Northwest region Dr. Amy VanBlaricom.

“Dr. Lisa Johnson and the hospitalist program has made birth in Anchorage safer, friendlier, and more supportive of families than it has ever been,” wrote the nominee.

Pictured above: Sean Johnson, who accepted the award on behalf of his wife, Dr. Johnson, with AABC President Lesley Rathbun (left) and Barbara Norton (middle) of Geneva Woods Birth Center, who nominated Dr. Johnson and OBHG.

Photo credit: Marketing TEA

This blog provides general information and discussion about healthcare-related subjects. The content and linked materials provided are not intended and should not be construed as medical advice. If the reader is an expectant mother with a medical concern, she should consult with an appropriately licensed physician or healthcare provider.

©2017. Ob Hospitalist Group, Inc. All rights reserved. View our linking and republishing policies.